Some really profound thougths about our coaches. Worth the read.

Kristina Groves

I don’t know legendary rowing coach Mike Spracklen, but I certainly know of him. I’ve long heard the fabled stories about how tough and demanding he is, that he can be blunt and harsh and unforgiving, that he pushes you to the brink of your own sanity and then pulls you back.  I’ve heard all of that, and I’ve also heard about the medals his athletes have won. He coached my childhood idol Silken Laumen and she was pretty damn good too.

I don’t claim to know one single thing about what happened between Rowing Canada, Mike Spracklen and all the rowers he coached but from what I can tell there was little to no consensus among those involved. Central to the issue, it seems, were his style, methods and standards. By all accounts, it was not an entirely agreeable decision to let him go.

This all got me thinking…

View original post 1,049 more words

2 thoughts on “

  1. It’s actually a great and useful piece of information. I am happy that you simply shared this useful info with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

