Getting Back on Track

I feel like I can finally see the light at the end of this tunnel, in the past two weeks I have been able to get back on track with school (over a month of not being able to do school does not leave me in the best place). I have also been able to put my self on the other side of these walls that I have become oh so familiar with again; being able to get outside and go for longer walks, without any symptoms has really brightened my spirits. Although there are still days where I don’t feel quite like myself and sometimes it’s hard to see that light, but I have to continue to tell my self that it is still there.

I need to start making little goals for myself everyday and begin to gain my strength back, and start feeling more like my capable self. I plan to start riding on my trainers soon, or maybe go for a really easy jog. I still have to be careful not to push myself to symptoms . As for larger goals, I am trying to make it back to Invermere to train for a few more weeks and work mostly on technique. I don’t have sights set on racing though, since my confidence will be something I will have to work on, I have also been told to be very careful to not hit my head again for a good while. Although this depends on how everything else works out, I need to be healthy and feeling great before I go back because unlike here, I have no family support out there. I also need to get ahead in my school since I am working towards going tree planting around the end of April so that I can help fund for my ski racing next season, plus I still plan on graduating this year.

Right now though I just need to take care of one day at a time.

I plan on continuing my blogging, focusing more on other aspects. I will write about other things related to what I am doing and thinking since the other aspects of my life have come to a halt. I am glad that I am now healthy enough to write again. Soon I will be posting a research essay about the changes FIS has imposed on race skis and continue with other positive posts.

2 thoughts on “Getting Back on Track

  1. Glad to hear you are recovering. We both know how it effects you both physically and psychologically. When you are back at Panno, please contact us and we can at least keep you company skiing for a few days. Bob is back on skiis since he fractured his ribs and is skiing cautiously, but his technique is great! Hope to see you on the hill soon!

    all the best from both of us,
    Bob and Cathy

Leave a Reply

