Feeding the Athlete

One of the challenges of living on your own that I have struggled with but also enjoyed is being in the kitchen; cooking dinner for myself, preparing meals, etc. It’s one thing when you have parents around to do these kinds of things most of the time, but it is really a whole other thing when you know you are the one who has to keep the fridge stocked up, especially when you are not the kind of person who settles for meals from the freezers section of the grocery store or anything over processed for that matter. Sometimes though with a busy life, working on school and training everyday, I will have to settle for less than the best meals. At the same time I am trying to discover and learn how come up with quick and easy healthy meals. Thanks to my parents who supplied me with a ton of frozen meals before I moved over to Inveremere, a lot of this pressure has been taken off for those long days and weeks. Feeding hungry ski racers is hard work!

View from the Kitchen

Apart from this being a challenge, I have also been able to enjoy my time in the kitchen with my pots and pans, measuring cups, spatulas, and I am learning equaling as much. I am sure to say that I am setting myself up well for many years of this to come. Over the course of time I have been here I have baked banana bread, healthy oat meal raisin cookies, granola, zucchini loaf, bran muffins, granola bars and the odd classic chocolate chip cookie.  I have made broccoli soup, butternut squash soup, meatloaf, sweet and sour stir fry sauce, veggies patte, all for the first time.  Steven and I have enjoyed spending time in the kitchen and rejoiced in our creations. I have really enjoyed having his company and support through all of this, and now I have to continue on my own, but in the end I will come out all that more experienced.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies!

Yesterday I enjoyed a break from skiing and spent some time in the kitchen in the morning. I went out the night before and bought the things I needed to make Moroccan Stew (Delia Roberts recipe from Power Planting for Power Eating: http://selkirk.ca/media/innovation/facultyresearch/treeplanting/powereating/power_eating.pdf )and organised the supplies so they would be ready in the morning. I was excited because it was a recipe that I thought I would like; I fancied all the ingredients and that fact that it was labeled “…my current favourite.” by Delia. The recipe calls for a large quantity of ingredients and I admit that I was a little nervous half way through that I wouldn’t like it, and would have to eat a lot of something that I didn’t like because I made two big pots of it. In the end it turned out great, and possess lots of flavor.

Moroccan Stew

2 large sweet potatoes or yams (6-8 cups)

I used sweet potatoes

1 large onion

4 garlic cloves, minced

4-6 cups assorted vegetables (celery, green pepper, zucchini)

I also added carrots and mushrooms.

4- 6 cups assorted cooked beans

I used black beans and chick peas

2-3 Cans stewed tomatoes

¼ cup lemon juice

1-2 Tbsp each ground coriander, ground cumin, chili powder, curry powder.

1 tsp black pepper

½ -1 cup of raisins

I also added some dried cranberries

1 cup peanut butter

6 Cups vegetable broth

Fresh chopped cilantro

Salt to taste

Simmer all ingredients for approximately 1 hour and serve over couscous.

Ingredients

Finished Product! Yum!

2 thoughts on “Feeding the Athlete

  1. Your doing great – Kali.
    It’s a big challenge to be doing all of this while still in grade 12 and on you own!
    We are super proud – your motivation is amazing.
    Mom

  2. Wow, Kali I am definitely impressed that you have found the time to make such delicious and nutritious food. The Moroccan stew is now on my list of dinner menu items. Your ability to juggle school, training, a relationship and independent living demonstrates that you apply the same work ethic to daily activities as you do to training and racing. Being a professional athlete is not just about training hard and getting good results. It is about hard work, dedication, organization and taking responsibility. Your time on your own really demonstrates you have what it takes. I am proud of you to:)

Leave a Reply

