Building Confidence: Results of the Week

Thursday, January 5th, 2012

The first day of racing was giant slalom (GS), consisting of two combined runs. I was definitely more nervous than the other days of racing and did my best to keep myself relaxed throughout the day and even more so right before my run. I tried not to set any expectations for myself. My main focus for that day was to be relaxed so I could really channel my focused before my run and in the start gate. I also had a few technical reminders to keep my mind focused on performing my best and not worrying about any results. This seemed to work well; I had a good race and was happy with my result, but I still knew I had more in me. It was good to have a race like this to show my self that I am capable.

Mens SG Finish

Friday, January 6th, 2010

The second day of racing was another GS day, I was disappointed with how I skied first run and think that this might have had to do with the fact that we were up on the hill much earlier (first run of the day at 8am versus the day before at 10am) so that we could warm up on our super-g skis and by the time of our first run (around noon) I was tired and lacking motivation. The course also ran a little straighter and faster, an my confidence wasn’t quite there for me then.  In the second run I pulled things together and skied the top of the course very well but made some bad  mistakes on the pitch. This would have cost me a lot of time if I had not skied out, resulting in a ‘Did Not Finish’ or DNF.

Saturday January 7th, 1012

Saturday was our first day of super-g (a one run speed event in ski racing that also involves a high level of technical abilities) racing in Schweitzer and to be honest I was a bit worried that I wouldn’t be able to pull it off and would ski down the course terrified of the speed. I exchanged a few short words with my parents the night before and they helped me to turn that around. I knew I had all the capabilities; had skied well on this course before and had a ton of fun doing it. I went into that day confidentially, believing in my self and my capabilities and did my best to stay relaxed. I wouldn’t say it was my best run ever, I was tentative on some turns, not quite trusting my self completely but I had fun and wasn’t fearful at all, I carried a later line down the pitch and stayed relaxed. I ended up with a good result and decided then that I would take the confidence from that day into tomorrows race.

View of Lake Pend Oreille from Schweitzer

Sunday, January 8th, 2012

Sunday was another day of super-g and the final day of racing. Our coach, Mike, was setting the course because Becca was the top female Canadian with points, we requested a straighter and faster course with some bigger turns and we got what we asked for. It ended up being one the funnest courses I’ve skied in a while, and I enjoyed the speed all the way. I certainly skied more confidently and aggressive than the day before and carried a clean ski through all of the big long turns. I came onto the pitch carrying a later line again and was thrown off by a bit of a rhythm change and didn’t make the next turn. I was frustrated that I didn’t finish, although I was still happy because I had skied much better and with more confidence that is now there to be further built upon.

We take the rest of the month of January to train, train, train and will not be racing untill the first day of February. My goals right now for this block is to build up my confidence and fine tune my technical skiing.

Leave a Reply

